• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

fertilizer Fertilizer help

Hello, I'm brand new to hot pepper growing. I have about 20 assorted hot pepper plants in 5 or 3 gallon containers. I have habs, reapers, butch t douglah hybrids, padrons and brown morugas. I mixed a soil composition of half rich topsoil and the rest of the container with lobster compost and some peat. I used coast of maine products. I haven't fertilized too much do to my high compost in the container. All the plants are doing well. They are starting to get pods. Some more than others.
My question is, how often should I fertilize now that they are budding and getting pods? Is it different now. I have Jacks 20-20-20 and a fertrell kelp liquid fert at my house. It's been several weeks since I've fertilized. I haven't done it because they have been looking great. Could anyone give me any suggestions on feeding and or caring for these plants at this time in the season. It's mid august in massachusetts. This is a great site. Thanks in advance...

I don't want to give you the wrong information, but I don't fertilize very often. I've found that peppers pretty much take care of themselves. If they are deficient, then yes, I try to give them what they need. I can tell you that 20-20-20 is too much nitrogen. You're better off with a 1-2-2 ratio. For example, I use a 5-10-10. I've heard that cactus fertilizer is the way to go. I looked and Shultz' cactus food is 2-7-7. I hope this helps a little.

Thanks so much, I'm trying to learn as much as possible. The plants look great and have tons of buds, flowers and a few pods thus far. With all the work and attention I've put into them, I just want to make sure I'm doing what's right at this point. I'm open to any suggestions as to how I could improve my yield.