• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Fluorescent light plug set

Hey all,
Just came into ownership of two 2 foot, 2 bulb, T5 Lithonia fixtures last night. (I believe they're these) I'm planning on using them to replace my current seed starter light and then continue with some basil, lettuce, etc.. I'm new to the indoor game and from what I've been reading, these are strong enough for seeds, lettuce, herbs, etc. But how far along could plants get under something like this? Are these strong enough to continue a pepper plant producing through winter, or is it just strong enough to keep plants alive through the winter months?

They're supposed to be wired directly to power, but figured I can just rig it up to some plugs. In the name of not wasting time/money or endangering myself, something like this should work fine, right? 

Besides that, I was going to pick up some 6400K T5 bulbs to replace the soft white ones that are currently in them. I've heard alternating soft white and 6400K bulbs is good. Does that provide a better spectrum of light, or would all 6400K be better?

Sorry for all the questions, I read the stickies on lighting and whatnot and still think I'd feel better with getting it clarified by the experts (you all).

Thank you!

Also, it seems they're 14W fixtures, I'm guessing 24W 6400K bulbs wouldn't work properly. Is this correct? I know overlamping incandescent bulbs can overheat them, I'm just not familiar with it's effects on fluorescent.

you can only fit one large plant, or a couple small plants under it i'd say, but yes it could continue flowering. it will bring lettuce/herbs all the way through to harvest easy.
coverage is 1' x 2'

yes you can just slap a plug on it.

cool white or daylight is best, softwhite is not good, don't need to alternate.

At the very least use a power strip or surge protector, don't just plug straight into the wall.