• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Germination Mat Woes

Hello,

This is my first year growing hot peppers, and my first post on these forums. This seems like a really great community. Anyhow, about my trouble. I purchased a germination mat off of ebay, and placed my seed tray on the mat. The heat mat does not seem to be warming up though. I've had it plugged in since yesterday, and when my hand is placed on it, I feel no heat radiating from it. I realize the point of the mat is not to cook the seeds, but it seems quite cold/moderately warm. Is this normal?

Put a piece of styrofoam under it-box it in.
You are probably heating up the countertop or air,not the seeds.

http://www.thehotpepper.com/topic/19121-seedling-heatmat/

It should feel only very slightly warm to the touch, they don't put out much heat. They're usually only intended to raise the temperature about 10 degrees F over ambient temperature. That's a good suggestion by smokemaster though, if it's not heating your setup up enough putting some kind of insulating material underneath it makes a significant difference.

You should pick a thermometer though to know for sure, they're dirt cheap. I bought one for $1 at Wal-mart that was very consistent with the reading my thermostat gives so it seems fairly accurate, at least within a degree or so.

I originally had mine just on a piece of plastic but even with that, I could noticeably feel heat coming from it. You may have a defective unit.

I'm not sure how technical you are, but a sure fired way to check your heat mat would be first:

− Measure the resistance through the heat mat with a multimeter. You want to see if you have an open circuit.
− Measure the current with a multimeter while it's on.

Both methods would tell you for sure, "mmcdermott1" and I do this for a living.

I'd try insulating my heat mat-heat wise-foam as sugested above.