• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

growing light?

hi im new to growing peppers and i am going to grow thai peppers indoors and i was just wondering if a " CORALLIFE ACTINIC F28-T5-BP bulb would work? thanks

im growing them from seeds to full grown indoors so any light recommendations will help. i plan on only growing 4 plants to begin with. i am in the process of building a grow box in my basement! thanks

I am growing some seedlings pretty good with 2 actinic and 2 10K white bulbs. I'm not sure I would be able to grow any pods with these bulbs. These seedlings are going outside next month. I would recommend you get a 6500k bulb for your fixture.

If you plan to full grown your pepper plants, you might need much more "hot" light.
The bulb you have chosen provides 6700K, good to grow plants but not the best choice to come into bloom or to ripen your pods.
You should add some bulb with the right light temperature (2700 - 2100K), besides having a different light cycle.

You guys say you are using actinics to grow peppers? Are these true actinic 03 bulbs? Because honestly, I don't think an actinic would do much for plants.. We use them in the aquariums to provide an off-set to the yellow of a 6500k bulb, and make corals glow with flourescence.. They are like a blacklight bulb, only more bright purple than black.. Not really a bulb with a spectrum I would figure would be useful for land based gardening, its 420nm to 460nm usually, an extremely blue bulb..

I think that's the first time I've seen someone call a 6500K yellow :rofl:

I'm so used to plant lighting that 6500K looks practically like a bright blue to me. Now my 2700Ks... those are yellow.