• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

Hardy's Indoor Grow House / Overwinter / GLOG

First, let me preface everything by saying this is my first year growing peppers and I've learned a TON from this community and everyone's contributions.  I've been lurking and reading on this site since May and finally decided to register and post.  
I started with a 'can' of Carolina Reapers I bought from a retail store in Tennessee (the novelty little can that you pop open, pour water in, and set on window sill).  Since then I've tried more 'cans', bought seeds from several online sites, and been trying a little bit of everything.

This summer I grew 2 Reapers, several cayenne, several Peter peppers, a few habanero.  I've since tried germinating chocolate habaneros, ghost, Bolivian rainbows and have had zero success (I have some questions but will save those for later).

I wanted to overwinter them so I cut them down, trimmed roots, potted and put in basement under T8s.  It is a little cool (67 degrees) and very dry in the basement.  The plants kept growing well.  The cayenne have even been putting out pods.  They were all getting crowded so I needed something different.  

Tonight, I got a little antsy and built a bit of a greenhouse in the basement.

Here are my plants about 5 weeks after bringing them inside.  In the background you can see where I had a table, space blanket and a T8.

Dqhs9nd.jpg

Here is the starting point for their new home:

rRP1QsV.jpg

T8s hung and test some thin plastic sheeting (my hope was to raise the humidity a bit)

xYTVBuT.jpg

Area complete sheeted in with plastic and space blanks (silver side facing in on the walls and silver side facing out on the top---to help reflect heat back into the greenhouse).

XcSZ2vL.jpg

Here is a shot of the kids in their new home:

amNr07T.jpg

Now for a couple of questions.