Hello from western NY

Hi folks. already had my first post but I thought I'd introduce myself here anyway.

I've been growing hot peppers for about 5-6 years now, and I've had vegetable gardens on and off over the last 20 years.  Started out my chili growing with jalapenos and habaneros from garden center purchased plants.  I've generally had pretty good success and harvest enough to make lots of relishes, pickles, and mashes.  

This year I wanted to grow more varieties than I could get at my small garden center so I decided to start from seed.  I've never tried to grow anything from seed in the past.  I ordered jalapenos, habaneros, pepperoncinis, hot cherries, and cayennes from Pepper Joes.  Along with them I got sample packets for Santa fe Grandes, Fresnos, and Takano-somethingorothers.  Despite doing most everything wrong (or at least not at all ideal) I managed to get most everything to germinate and grow.  A few of the varieties took about 5 weeks to germinate and consequently were way behind when planting time arrived in May.  During the course of raising my seedlings I managed to cook them once in the attic window on an unusually hot day, and I dried them out pretty badly once as well.  Despite that, and other rookie errors, I had very few casualties and Memorial Day weekend they went into pots for the patio. Oh, and because I have no impulse control, a 6 pack of Super Chili plants followed me home from the garden center as well.