• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Hot oil extraction

I work in a restaurant and we have been working with varying ground peppers to make a super hot oil extract to dip fried foods into before serving.  We have been utilizing a host of different peppers and have had great success creating varying heat levels, but we are struggling to make our oil, basically inedible.  

One technique is to get a pot of oil to about 300 degrees and mix a set amount of ground pepper, such as trinidad scorpion and remove from the stove and allow to cool.  The hot oil does pull more heat out of the ground pepper than room temperature oil or even oil at 150 degrees or so.

The problem we are having is that we seem to be hitting a saturation limit and can't seem to get an oil that is infused with enough heat

Our general configuration has been 3 lbs oil and (between) 4oz and 10oz ground Trinidad Scorpion powder, but there isn't any significant difference between 5oz and 10oz.

I'm not a bonafide pepper head, but I would say we are fairly accurately able to make sauces that vary from boring to about 200hu.  However, I feel like I can buy sauces off the shelf that are hotter than what we are making and the inability to make this oil blistering hot is becoming a production problem.

Any suggestions on how to make this oil bath hotter?

:welcome: to THP.

Pure Evil won't work or I'd suggest that.  :lol:  It's that whole oil-n-water thing... ;)  But there may be a couple other options. Check your PM's. 

salsalady

Capsaicin is oil-soluble and as such you could "boost" your oil bath by adding in pure capsaicin extract or the crystalline form.  You will quickly move beyond anything resembling a "flavourful oil" though and start treading upon the dominion of in-edibility.

Is capsaicin a terpine