• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

How do I turn my inferior jalapeño into a thick bush?

I am new to chilli growing and started my jalapeño 4 months ago. It is now 35 cm high with a few leaves but not very bushy. I had put out a few fruit. It is in a 25cm pot. I have fertilised with thrive fertiliser once a month. What can I do to get a thriving bush plentiful with fruit? Bigger pot. More water? Less water?
Help please

Bigger pot always better, Can't recommend the water as I don't know how much water it gets. Pictures help. 

How much soil does that 25cm pot hold? 12L?  If so that is plenty.

I do not know what Thrive fertilizer is, but what I can say is that if you want top growth then you need to be feeding something that has Nitrogen (N) in it.

You also need plenty of light.

And you can also try topping the plant, forcing it to bush out.

The problem: Australian commercial standard potting mix. That or a combination of that and Australian summer (and the bloody heat!).

Just out of curiousity, what potting mix are you using? Is it really as chunky and under-composted as it looks?? Not having a go or anything... sadly, pretty much every commercial potting mix here seems to be of terrible quality... kinda hard to avoid (unless you're willing to do a bit of searching for something half decent or start making your own potting mix).

gasificada said:
The problem: Australian commercial standard potting mix. That or a combination of that and Australian summer (and the bloody heat!).

Just out of curiousity, what potting mix are you using? Is it really as chunky and under-composted as it looks?? Not having a go or anything... sadly, pretty much every commercial potting mix here seems to be of terrible quality... kinda hard to avoid (unless you're willing to do a bit of searching for something half decent or start making your own potting mix).
Also if I were you I'd definitely get a bigger pot.