• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

How to best mail some fresh pods?

I am helping out a fellow THP member by sending some fresh habs up to AK. I've never done this before. Anyone with experience in this that can give me some pointers? Would hate for a big ol' smelly package of black habs to arrive! Thanks

I am helping out a fellow THP member by sending some fresh habs up to AK. I've never done this before. Anyone with experience in this that can give me some pointers? Would hate for a big ol' smelly package of black habs to arrive! Thanks

Priority mail boxes work great. Gets them delivered fast and not smashed.

What I have done in the past, is rap the pods with a paper towel then place them in a plastic bag.

The paper towel will absorb any moisture and preserve the pods. Depending on the amount of pods, flat rate boxes are pretty cost affective.

-Peter

Have you ever seen those breathable green vegetable bags? I use those so the humidity doesn't build up.

Wash the peppers well, maybe use a bit of vinegar or vege wash.
Dry them with a paper towel and give a bit of a gentle polish.
Put them in the bag, the bag in a box, the box in the mail.

The key is to clean off any mold spores and allow them to breathe.

I've also gotten fine pods in ziplocks and pods just in the box. Fresh pods and fast shipping are probably more important than the packing, but I'm pretty sure fully sealed is not the best.

Edit: Yes, put a paper towel in there too

Excellent info folks. Thank you all very much. Someone here at work was talking dry ice. I just felt that was a bit much. I will follow the above guidlines. Thanks again

Have you ever seen those breathable green vegetable bags? I use those so the humidity doesn't build up.

Wash the peppers well, maybe use a bit of vinegar or vege wash.
Dry them with a paper towel and give a bit of a gentle polish.
Put them in the bag, the bag in a box, the box in the mail.