• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

humbled rookie needs HELP!!!!

long ass kissing post warning!!!!...first off i'd like to send a shout out and say thanks to everyone(alabama,spicy chicken, hotpooper,avon ,millman,thatguy,potawie,surfer,geeme,redtail,caps,musky,jess,hotstuff,kc anteater WOW!,bigphil unobtanium! n everyone else that had made me laugh my ass off!!! and helped me learn, over the last few days. and to THP thats the reason im here now is bEcause of BOTH of those things. this site is AWESOME! this is my first year growing real peppers( so dont take it easy on me!),other than ones from walmart etc that did produce small tiny jalapenos and got about twenty habs, but it did produce a new love of gardening,especially peppers,that will ensue for the rest of my life! no question. i love it so much i almost just killed my yorkie for plucking out and eating 3 of my seedlings 30 mins ago!!! lil bastard!! i never knew a year ago i could care so much for a plant. no food is too hot for me.....at least not yet.i can eat habs no prob i mean?i know now that thats not saying much.so i ordered everything from nmsu! aji limon black prince ,centennial cajamarca hab cayenne and nm twighlight all sprouted so far.all germinated in a 3 days but nothing since .still waiting IMPATIENTLY! HAD 10 seedlings, 2 died, 3 died from dog attack, 5 left, waiting on hopefully 50 more. i have so many questions i dont know where to start?( 1.) i have my seedlings under a 18 INCH $5 florescent garden and aquarium bulb....how close should my light be to them? (2.) my seedlings are only a 5 days old....can i, and should i be placing seedlings out in sun instead of my floro when possible? (weather in vegas has been beautiful but afraid to kill seedlings? 3. my stems on two plants are completely purple and both leaves on one are black too.is this a problem? 4. i have seedlngs in seedling soil and with fan on it it drys up completely