• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

hydroponic Hydroponic nutrients - what works well and what's not worth the price

I've been growing peppers (and other vegetables) hydroponically for a while (although I'm not a professional and don't claim to be an expert).

I've tried using a couple of the more expensive nutrient solutions one finds in hydroponic shops (i.e. Fox Farm, GH multi-part) as well as some dirt cheap no-name dry powder formula. I can't really tell a whole lot of difference - or at least to the extent that a difference in quality exists, it's nowhere near the difference in price.

For the past couple of years I've just started using the dirt cheap stuff in a non-recirculating system. No need for PH or TDS meters. The dirt cheap stuff is just under $100 including shipping for 1500 gallons worth. I don't think I could come close to this price with a name brand nutrient, and it works quite well.

Any thoughts on this? Others with similar/different experience?

i jsut use GH flora nova and have had no issues my hydro shops gives me a little discount and the 30 dollar bottle last me forver as i keep my ppm around 500 and now i dont do res changes as the plants are drinking plenty of water/nutes to just need to add fresh water or nute solution every 2-3 days. i have only use the flora nova series so no experience with anything else but it works for me as i spend 30 bucks for MONTHS as it is super concentrated

for 20 or 30 bucks you can get a digital scale, and mix your own.

as far as premade nutes go, i tried something called maxi grow and floramato, both of which were great, but far more costly than just buying calcium nitrate MKP etc.

might also want to look at the hydrogardens premixed nutes, i think they include everything but calcium nitrate or something.

I don't see a drip to wast system worth anything more than cheap GH.