• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

ID'ing peppers once in the garden?

I have about 25 plants of 15 different varieties going into my garden after this weekends cold snap moves on. (rain/snow mix in may? really? hopefully the sweetcorn doesn't sprout before then) :banghead:

What do you guys use to ID multiple pepper plants in your garden after transplants?

My best idea so far is to get some 2x2 lumber from home depot and write the plant name on a stake to pound in next to the plant. i figure some of the varieties might need some support, it would be great if i don't have try and save the pepper plant after the wind blows it over.

Thanks,
Bob

any thing i good thats gonna last make sure your marker you use won't faDE in the sunlight i learned that the hard way.

Complete newbie here, but I would think a 1"x2" fir with a point cut on end would work. You may be able to find them at your local mens toy (hardware) store made as stakes ready to go with a point cut on the end. mark with a sharpie, or get some thin plastic sheet from craft store cut into 2"x4" or so rectangles and mark with sharpie and attach as a "flag" on the end of the stake. Another idea, make up business card size cards on the computer with the name, and any other info like date etc. Then laminate with a card laminator, then attach to chosen stake. 3/8" wood dowels make great stakes as long as plant isnt too heavy, could wrap a section of colored 2" tape on top of the dowel and mark that with sharpie.

I buy plant marker tags but when I was cheap I would cut up old window blinds.
I use pencil and then marker over top. If the marker fades, the pencil remains