spirits KEGGING!!!

As a somewhat experienced homebrewer, I am not quite confident in my abilities enough to give too much advice, BUT...

If you want to homebrew, INVEST IN KEGGING EQUIPMENT!!!!!

I did, and it is has made the homebrew experience so much more amazing than I could ever fathom!

For under $150 (shop around, maybe better) you can buy a couple of "c-kegs" and a small co2 tank, some hoses (not ladies of the night), and a tap. C-kegs are just old soft drink syrup containers. Stainless steel cylinders, about 5 gallon capacity, gas line in, liquid line out.

I have had no greater DIY experience than getting my friends HAMMERED (or delightfully and sophisticatedly buzzed) on picture perfect pints of homemade suds.

I haven't had to sanitize a bottle (other than for making mead) in over 2 years!

Give it a shot!! You won't regret it.

Exactly what I've been suggesting FD4... but if you HAVE to bottle I'd only use champagne bottles. 25 per 5 gal batch is WAY easier (IMO) than 50+ 12 oz.ers! May lose more if something goes wrong with the bottle, but I'd prefer over-sanitizing less containers, than under-sanitizing more. Plus, you use less caps. :)

I love bottling and that way I can travel with my brew, but I do appreciate the art of building a keggerator and kegging your stuff ;)

imaguitargod said:
I love bottling and that way I can travel with my brew, but I do appreciate the art of building a keggerator and kegging your stuff ;)

True. Bottling does have its benefit of portability. The 10+ days it takes for a bottle to carbonate can be done in 2 with a keg. Plus there is no worrying about priming sugar, or whether that got thoroughly mixed before bottling. I've had some bottles end up totally flat and others that were gushers because I hadn't quite mastered the bottling technique. Major props to sticking with the science of bottling. :)

SumOfMyBits said: