• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds lighting for germination?

I am new to growing peppers. I started a variety of peppers today including jalapeño, habanero, reaper as well as some tomatoes,okra, and shallots. I am using a 72 plug hot house on a heating mat with thermostat set at 85. I am using rapid rooter peat cubes. My question is how much lighting should I be using from now until the seeds germinate?  Right now I have the hot house sitting in front of a southwest window which is fairly bright in the afternoon. Is this too much light?  There is no direct light hitting the seeds since they sit down in the rapid rooter hole. I soaked the seeds for 2 hours before putting in hot house. 

Once they germinate I will put them under a 250 MH 65k light until all the snow melts here in Illinois.

Ok sounds like I can move away from the window until they sprout.  Thanks for the advice. Good point on the metal halide burning them. I guess I'll start out with the light pretty far away at first and see how they react.  This forum has been a great resource since I've never done this before. 

I germinate in incubators made for eggs.  Near zero light in there.  Works fine.  Once they show themselves, I move to under standard shop lights with cool white fluorescent bulbs in them.  6" away from the seedlings, 160 watts (4 bulbs) per 2 foot by 4 foot of grow area at 12 hours a day.  I wait at least two weeks before I put them under any serious lighting for fear of burning the little things.  When I do, I go to 16 hours a day.

Same for clones, but they get 24 hours of darkness before anything else.  Not sure why, but seems to help.

^^^ Take this one seriously^^^
Don't over water! That's the biggest mistake everyone makes starting out!
oh and Welcome !!

marlin304 said: