• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Make my sauce more runny

Hi, i am new to making hot sauce but i have been experimenting for a while.
I have a problem, the final result of my sauce is just wat i want in taste but is kind of thick. How can i make it more runny without loosing the quality of the taste.

Here is what i do:

1/2 cup of vegatable oil
5- 6 habanero peppers
4-5 gloves of garlic
1 cup of water
2 table spoons of white vinagare
3/4 lime
1 t/s salt
basil leaves

thanx

If he wants a thinner sauce that's what he wants. I don't think "leave it thick" helps him too much.

What's the vegetable oil for? Does it taste like a thick salad dressing now?

Lose the oil, add more vinegar.

If he wants a thinner sauce that's what he wants. I don't think "leave it thick" helps him too much.

+1 for this. If it's still not to you liking after this you can always strain the pulp out though a chessecloth or fine strainer utill it's to your liking.

Thanks for the advice guys
i love it the way it is is just if i want to put it in a smaller bootle is hard to pour it out. If i put more vinegar is perfect but the taste is a bit overpowering..

You weren't clear on all your steps. You are cooking this, correct? Play with measurements and pH until you get it right. Too vinegary for you? Okay fine. Use a fruit juice. Too sweet? Okay, water. Whatever. You'll get it. When I cook sauces I don't add water. Some people do. I find better ways to get the consistency I want with other liquids and a balance of cooking it down, not cooking it down so much, etc.