• Start a personal food blog, or, start a community food thread for all.

Mason's high enthalpy chili

This is my basic chili recipe. The name comes from a chemistry department get together from when I was an undergraduate.

2 lbs of ground beef, browned and fat drained
4 medium onions, chopped
2 15oz cans chili beans (with sauce)
1 15 oz can dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 15 oz cans stewed tomatos
1 can diced tomato or two diced tomatos
1 16 oz bad of frozen corn
1 6 oz can tomato paste
your favorite chilis, optional (I use habaneros)

the following are to taste (I don't measure):
paprika
cumin
chili powder
oregano

Add everything together. Cook on low at least 6 hours in a crockpot, or 1 hour in a large pot on the stove. Serve. Add hot sauce, cheese, sour creme, cooked rice, crackers...whatever you like at this point. It's not a "real bowl of red", but this stuff has earned me a lot of respect among my friends and I frequently get requests for it.

If you know you are going to be the only person eating it or you are sharing with other chiliheads, feel free to add hot sauce before cooking. Uncle Big's Killer Sauce has a cuminy taste I think goes well with chili.

Someone else make this please so I don't feel like I've wasted my time :mouthonfire:

Is capsacium a real thing? Sorry just ignorant.

That looks really good, I have never put corn in chilli, I will give it a try.

I made this today with some minor changes. It turned out to be the best pot I've made. I'll make some other tweaks next time, but thanks for putting this up as I loved making/eating this.

I added the following to your above recipe and left the corn out. I also didn't have the paprika as I didn't buy any at the store thinking I had some at home.

2 - Cloves of Garlic
2 - Cans of Beef Broth
3.5 - lbs of beef, wanted more....only 1.5 more than you used
1 - 15oz. Can of Butter Beans
3 - Cups of Macaroni

INCaneFan said: