• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

My first sprouts. Now what?

Finally, my first sprouts :dance: :P

Aji Cristal
pa030012f.jpg

Aji Cristal
pa030022.jpg

Aceituno
pa030015c.jpg

Should i remove the cover and put them under lights (done that already :rolleyes: ), or just wait a couple more days?

So excited ladies & gentlemen!!! Can't wait to see them growing.

Germination rate was 100% (aji 3/3, aceituno 1/1), started December 27th.

Got some more waiting in solo cups (also started december 27th) : 3 Naga Morich, 2 Habanero Orange, 2 African Bird's Eye, 2 Cayennes.

It's my first time trying to grow so early and indoor under lights. I usually grow outside in pots, starting March, just few cayennes and some aji cristals.

Thanks for checking!

Lights right away is best, and also, a fan. You don't want the fan blowing hard directly on them, though, so you may need to experiment to find a way to get the air moving around them without overdoing it. The fan serves two purposes. The first is to help strengthen the stems, which will help reduce the amount of hardening off you have to do in the spring. (Look up hardening off on this site if you're not already familiar with it.) The other is to help reduce the chance of damping off, a fungus, from occurring. The youngest plants are most susceptible to damping off, and it will likely kill your plants if you can't prevent or quickly eradicate it.