• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Need some advice!

Hey Guys,
I have a large indoor garden in my home and have been interested in growing hot peppers in it for some time now! I am a total beginner to peppers. Right now we have a few green chile growing just to get an idea of what I can expect from these kinds of plants. 

My question is this. What are some of the best peppers to start off with? Which strains tend to be hard to mess up?

I bought a few packs of random pepper seeds from a local nursery. I had alot of trouble seeing as the seeds took like 3 weeks to germ. Ended up having mold problems. I am looking to keep trying and would love any kind of guidance from all of you "Pepper Heads"

Haha I really love that term.

Well that is a loaded question... the real answer is to plant what do you like..  mild to super hot... there are hundreds of varieties out there and all have different  qualities.. for mild i would suggest a jalapeno or manzano.. above that in heat i have had great luck with habeneros.. and there are a bunch of varieties of those... above that in heat is the fatallis or douglas.. great heat good flavor.. next try the ghost peppers.. or bhut jolokia.. also hotter but still good flavor. the top of my tasting is the butch t and the trinidad moruga scorpian.. hotter than hell but good flavor till the heat kicks in. If you have room for all or some of those give em a go. the super hots take much longer to germinate.

If i were you i would do a couple of each and see what works best with your setup. it would also allow you to sample each variety..

just my 2 cents...

I have a Thai Dragon in a small flower pot that produces all year (after it's first blooming) and is on it's 3rd year.
Nothing I have tried has killed it.
Tastes exactly like a fresher version of the little red peppers you find in hot chinese food.