• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

drying Need some advices about beef jerky

Tomorrow i will try to make some beef jerky. I have never done it before or even taste it. But i like dried meat.

So i have been googling and checking some on thp. But i still need some advices i like medium hot like Jalapeño hot i love salt and garlic.

So anyone wanna shear a recipe.

I have the basic things at home. Like Liquid smoke, soya, onion powder, sea salt.
And 1 kg of fine meat. Fresno and Jalapeño i will def use for one batch.
But as this is the first time i will try to split it up in 4. So what more should i use?
Maybe some inca red drop will be good? or shold i mix De arbol and some Nagas?
All tips are welcome i dont mind if one batch gets a bit "HOT" ;)

I have those chili's to cook with:

Jalapeño
Naga morich
Dorset naga
Fresno
Hot lemon
Savina
Champion
Aji amarillo
Aji habanero
De arbol
7pot
T.Scorp morouga
Inca red drop

How are ya cooking the jerky? I do mine in the oven and it works out great!

I start by slicing the meat into large thin pieces and placing them on newspaper to dry - Next i use a dry seasoning and coat both sides on the meat then take it off the newspaper and put it in a plastic bag and let it marinate overnight. The next day i get 2 large cookie sheets and place 2 large cooling racks inside them then place the marinated meat on the racks making sure not to overlap the jerky.

I turn the oven to 175F to 200F (no more then 200F) and put the meat in the top racks of the oven - Next place a large wooden spoon in the oven door to keep it open a crack depending on how dry you like the jerky is up to you but for the first hour you don't need to check on it at all after that be sure to give it a bend test every 15 to 20 minutes until the desired dryness is reached.