• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Need tips! Sucking? Tipping?

Argh. I've been reading around all over the web and finding conflicting info so I thought I'd run this by the pros here. Please help! I've searched for similar topics in the forum and haven't really found a definitive answer, if there is a thread that answers my questions, please direct me! So here goes:

I've been trying to figure out how give my plants the best shot at being short and bushy with loads of delicious pods. How do I tip/prune the little guys so they grow to be this way. I'm quite confused on the difference between what a sucking is and whatever else parts of the plant that affects the way it grows. What do I cut/prune and when should I do it? Here on some pics of my plants that I've been experimenting with. I thought I would ask before I went hacking away. BTW, this is my first time growing chillies.

Here's a pic of an untouched plant. It seems the new shoots are growing slow and the big leaves are getting all the plants energy:

Tipping4.jpg

Here's one that my mother in-law popped the top leaves off of. It seems they are growing a bunch of new shoots faster than all the rest:

Tipping3.jpg

So my question is. Should I start cutting off the big leaves so my plants focus energy on putting up new shoots that will eventually lead to new branches close to the base? Or would that sap the plants ability to photosynthesize? Here's what I think I should be doing, cutting the leaves where the white lines are, and popping off the top (black circle):

Tippingpaint.jpg

Am I trying to do too much? Should I let them just grow? HALP plz! I love this forum!