• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Newbie looking for feedback and help.

Hi all. I'm new to hydroponics and gardening in general. I recently started growing peppers using the kratky method. Currently I have three Mesilla Hybrids growing in hydroton and two Giant Ozark Bell peppers growing in rockwool and hydroton. All my plants are in 3 inch net cups seated inside 9 oz solo cups. I started five seeds of each originally using the paper towel method. Four of 5 Mesilla's came in but I accidently snapped one root off pulling it off the towel. Three of 5 Ozarks came in but didn't go anywhere, so I got rid of them and replanted three in rockwool. Two of the 3 came in using the rockwool. Being a first time grower, I'm scared to death every step of the way that I'm gonna f**k up my plants. I've relied heavily so far on the teachings of MHPGardener, Khang Starr and Pepper_Rancher. I'm on disability and have had trouble finding employment my whole life, so I'm very eager to hopefully make a career out of growing and selling peppers, tomatoes and other produce down the line. If successful, I'd like to branch out into hot sauces and persevered peppers by the jar full. One day I hope to own a restaurant catering to fans of spicy food.

I'm using Hydroponics Tomato Fertilizer 20-18-38 which I bought off Amazon. I purchased my seeds off Tomato Growers Supply. I also purchased Bhut Jolokia seeds but I didn't start them because I wanted to wait and see if I had any success. Today I purchased Hungarian Hot Wax, Bounty Hybrid and Giant Marconi Hybrid peppers as well as Richardson tomatoes. In addition to hydroton, I also purchased Pro-Mix BX which is still sitting in its bag unopened.