• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Nutrient Science

So I have been growing a single Bhut in DWC for a couple of months, and it got huge, but keeps dropping it's flowers. I moved it outside today, but shocked it thoroughly, and broke a couple of branches, so I'm not sure if it will survive.

Now, there were a lot of factors working against Casper the ghost chili plant, but I'm convinced that I was doing nutrients all wrong as well. I see a TON of misinformation out there, and I'd really like to see some solid science.

The best sources that I can find suggest peppers need about 3:1:3 N:P:K, with a healthy amount of Ca as well. I think these are generally figured by tissue analysis - figuring out what the plants actually take in and maintain, since they don't really get rid of any of these elements after incorporating them. But I've been doing my whole grow with Maxibloom (the so called lucas formula), 1:3:3 - way short on nitrogen. They say this encourages budding, but even with access to university journal subscriptions, I can't seem to find any science to back this up. In fact, the New Mexico State University suggests fertilizing with nitrogen, not phosphorous, around flowering time to increase yields. Granted, that's for soil, but I imagine the general trend holds.

I found this: http://www.howardresh.com/hydroponic-culture-peppers2.html

But again, it's lacking rigor and detail, and it's just a list of nutrient values. It makes no reference to different stages of growth.

Does anyone have any better sources?

Also, can anyone suggest any commercial nutrient solutions that will give me closer to appropriate levels for chilis? (hopefully at a limited expense, since anything I buy is going to be a lifetime supply).

We use 10-30-10. That's the standard for bell pepper varieties in this area.
fa66df1a.jpg