• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

overwintering overwintering,,cutting back,,and how bout light?

hixs

Banned
Ok i`ve cut back some of my plants and am wondering-now how much light do they require?The same-less or what?Any help would be great.If i`ve missed a thread in the past sorry.Have a great one.

Mine are almost in the dark, under something like a huge table with very, very little light reaching them. Some are still growing sprouts, which I prune every couple of weeks. I don't think they need much light at all, but this is my first year.

Mike

Ok ,,thanks,,my 1st time also and was wondering what i`m doing wrong.How long do you think?-do you bring them back out then to get started for next year?Thanks for any help.

Rich,

Unless someone tell me otherwise, I'll bring them into light come the first of April at the latest and set them outside as soon as I don't have to worry about a killing frost.

Mike

I give my overwintering plants very little light or heat and most are staying semi-dormant but not aphid free:( I like to wait until about the beginning of march if I can before I bring my plants near a window or give them artificial light to kick start them.

in an indoors overwintering couldnt you easily grow chrysanthemums in & around your pot to keep the bugs at bay? Garlic chives might also be good, and by cutting the growth back & letting the vegetation compost back into the soil keep the soil active too.

Sorry may be impossible - overwintering is foreign to me but seems there must be an easy way to battle the aphids.