• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Pepper plant pruning

I have been looking at all the various Pepper Growing glogs, and I have to admit, I have pepper plant envy!

So I started to wonder why I see so many tall plants with plenty of spacing between the dirt and the branches.  Got me to wondering if people are pruning the little sucker branches on their plants like some do to tomatoes plants.

The reason I ask, is that many of my plants have branches all the way down the main stem to the dirt.   My plants seem to be very short and squat comparted to many of the ones I see on this list.  Wondering if maybe I should have pruned them? 

A little background on how I started these this year, since I am a rookie.  I kept the grow lights down real close to them when I was startig them earlier this year, so maybe that kept them shorter than most?  Just wonder if anyone has thoughts about this.

(Got a couple of pictures that show what I mean, but not sure how to add them yet.  got to get smarter!)

Bill

The only pruning I do is removing dying leaves.... mine are also rather short, compared to last year.... I'm sure it has to do with how, if at all, rootbound the plants are between transplants and the amount of sun.... last year, my plants were transplanted earlier, most often before the roots eveb reached the bottom of the containers and spent all day on a mostly shaded balcony with only a few hours of direct late afternoon sun at a pretty constant 80 degrees....
This year, my plants spent close to two weeks more than reasonable in the starting tray before going directly in ground where they pretty much receive full sun with occasional periods of shade with temps going between upper 60s to low 80s....
Before the difference in temperatures are pointed out, I had faster and better germ rates on varieties that did germ when temps here didnt even reach 80s than I did with the constant 80s last year....