• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Pruning suckers on tomatos?

This is my first year growing tomatos and was reading that I should prune the suckers or branches growing from the crotch of the stalk and a branch. It said it will not produce any fruit. Is this true? Underneath the section recommending this was a link for "more info" and then it said "these branches will produce more fruit". So which comment is right?

It depends on variety and how you want to support the plant. Leaving suckers will make for a more bushy plant but much more difficult to support. If you remove suckers you'll likely get a taller, more manageable plant which is easier to support and harvest from

It depends on variety and how you want to support the plant. Leaving suckers will make for a more bushy plant but much more difficult to support. If you remove suckers you'll likely get a taller, more manageable plant which is easier to support and harvest from
I have one called a Tommy Toe and another that is a Yellow Pear, they are in 7 gal pots with both tipping out at about 7ft in the pot,seem pretty tall already! just seems the branches growing from the crotch of the branching aren't producing like I read, I think out 1 of 20-30 of these branches has fruit/blooms, but I would hate to pruin them if they will eventually produce something.

Many people will remove suckers until the plant gets to the desired height and then pinch the top to put energy into the existing growth.
Suckers will also root very easily and become a whole new plant in no time.