• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Question about starting early

Hi,

Haven't been posting lately, mostly lurking.

I did better this year then last, I got hammered by slugs and rain but I am ending up with some good plants.

Now I am wondering how I can improve next year. I know my major issue was that I started too late and had some temperature issues with my setup.

Currently, the best place I have to start my plants is the basement. Unfortunately, with New England winters my non-heated basement does not stay very warm. I am hoping to start in January this year but I will need to have some climate control in place.

What do people do in the colder areas? Any insight would be appreciated.

thanks,
jj

I made a couple of small greenhouses, 3"H x 3"W by 2.5"D. Used PVC pipe and plastic. Some florescent lighting and a heat lamp with a small fan kept things nice and toasty. Some of the peppers were over two feet tall by the time the last chance of frost was past.

They cost less than $10 to build. I have some photos around here some where--I'll see if I can find one.

That was easier to find than I thought.:)

IMG_3842cre.jpg

I used styrofoam insulation to help keep the heat in.

That should keep things warm enough for you in the basement. The temps would drop to 60F in the night and the inside temp never dropped below 75F. I considered it successful.

Good luck to ya JJB.

Thanks for the info Patrick.

This seems like a good idea. I guess my only concern would be fire. Is this a valid concern or do you think I am worrying too much?

Did you leave this setup on 24-7?

I have a metal rack that I have been using. Maybe I can get styrofoam like you suggested and then plastic wrap. I can then wrap up the shelves that I am using.