• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Rabbit Droppings?

So we got a new family member (a rabbit),and I was wondering if rabbit droppings could be good for my pepper plants? Even though it might take forever to collect enough droppings...
Thanks
J

As I know, one of the best! Got a rabbit too, in fact my daughter, but she only OWN the rabbit, so far not concerned about feeding, cleaning... The positive for me are thse droppings :-) Yu can search the forum for rabbit tea, I have made once and used, but this is my first time, not concludent experience yet.
The droppings will be enough in short time, because you can prepare a tea, so not much droppings will produce enough tea, and the tea will have to be dilluted too.
I also put 3 dried pcs. of rabbit droppings to each plant when I moved my plants in the dirt.

I think you will be surprised how much they crap. I have a friend who keeps rabbits. Its potent with nitrogen. a little goes a long way. I have never used it fresh. I get it composted for 2+ months but I have heard it doesn't burn when used fresh. Not sure I would trust that though. And yeah, its great shit one of the best.

Rabbit droppings are cold manure so they don't need to be composted.  Their conversion rate of food is 4-1 so you'll get something for every pound of food you'll get back 3 of poop.  Happens to be one of the best conversion rates in mammals.

This year we have bunnies all over the property :) .  But need to be real quick to get any 'nuggets' to add to my worm casting soup.

My terrier hunts nuggets to devour, gobbles 'em like candy.  Over the years we have had many terriers and Labs.
All the terriers loved hunting bunny 'nuggets' as much (or more) than chasing bunnies.

I get lucky enough to have wild rabbits pooping all around my peppers and yard. I find it funny that a frequent spot this one rabbit stays in has some of the greenest grass :)