• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Seed & Preservation Question

Now that my plants are starting to produce a lot of fruit Im starting to think of the "end game". I was hoping to dry a lot of my superhots for seasoning. Is this best done in a dehydrator? Also do you remove seed before drying or should that be part of the spice?

The other question I have is preserving seeds for next season. This is my first year growing and my bhuts and trinidad scorpions are doing GREAT. Id love to be able to share with other members and save some for next season. Any tips on preserving the seeds for next grow season. Do I just take them out let them dry and put them in a cool place?

any help would be great.

Yeah, a dehydrator is best for drying. Any seeds to be saved are removed before using the dehydrator and the rest are left with the seeds in. They will dry the quickest if you cut the chilies in half lengthwise, but a few slits in a whole pod will dry quick enough and allow more pods per tray.

I scatter removed seeds on a paper plate, write the type on the plate and let them dry at room temp.

Yeah, a dehydrator is best for drying. Any seeds to be saved are removed before using the dehydrator and the rest are left with the seeds in. They will dry the quickest if you cut the chilies in half lengthwise, but a few slits in a whole pod will dry quick enough and allow more pods per tray.

I scatter removed seeds on a paper plate, write the type on the plate and let them dry at room temp.

+1 exactly

Neil told me to put the seeds in a regular paper envelope. I have baggies and envelopes, so either way, its all good.

Be real careful when grinding chile's, get your self a painters mask makes it a whole nicer and be sure to grind outside or you or anyone won't be-able to breath inside.