• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Someone please explain all the 7 Pots to me...

I am relatively new to growing and to this site and I constantly see various references to different strains of 7 Pot such as Brain Strain, Douglah, Yellow, Jonah, etc. Are these all crosses that different growers have stabilized? What is the difference between a regular 7 Pot? I have some of the regular ones planted and all these others are sounding very (much more) intriguing! Sure would like to acquire some seeds :)

They are all variations of the 7 pot/pod which isn't a very stabalized variety. In my opinion the different colored 7-pot/pods are not true 7's but crosses most of which are even more unstable

Edit: Actually the yellow 7 seems quite stable to me

A true 7 pot looks naga like and has a lime green colour to it. It also turns a rusty orange before it goes to red. It has grown good for me for the last 5 years anyways.
The others are all recent crosses. The yellow one is the best cross for sure. Productive, great flavour. Highly recommended.

although i have not tried the brain strain one yet.

MrArboc said:
How do you know they are crosses?

I grew up in a highly populated T&T community in Toronto and have a lot of friends. There was no such thing as a yellow 7 pot, brain strain, Sr strain, douglah,Jonahs "cultivar" 6 years ago. I suspect there was not that many mutations in 6 years.
Its not a very large country.

madhatter said:
I grew up in a highly populated T&T community in Toronto and have a lot of friends. There was no such thing as a yellow 7 pot, brain strain, Sr strain, douglah,Jonahs "cultivar" 6 years ago. I suspect there was not that many mutations in 6 years.
Its not a very large country.

So, the fact that you didn't see them in Toronto is supposed to be proof enough? Sorry, I think I need a little more than that.