• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

chinense Spontaneous variegation or disease?

Hi Everyone! 😁

My new season seedlings are sprouting. This year I took many varieties that were interesting to me. But since I am a newbie, I still feel unsure in some cases. Please tell me, is this some kind of disease/problem with care or spontaneous variegation?
This variety is not variegated. This is Roger's Habanero Giant orange. The photo shows this strange seedling and another of the same variety. I also have variegated varieties Hypnos and Tiger Jalapeno but they sprouted a couple of weeks earlier and were planted and labeled before these. And they look different too. So there shouldn't be any confusion.

Are there other cases like a spontaneous mutation or disease that causes patterns on the leaves? Well, to be honest, if it were a spontaneous mutation, I would be only happy because I love variegated varieties. But if it's a disease or a care problem, then I need to understand why it's happening.

Thanks! 😊

IMG20240305182128.jpg
IMG20240305182134.jpg
IMG20240305182203.jpg

It looks like variegation, better keep an eye out for this one!

Thanks! 😊

I think I'll keep it for growing in a pot. It will be interesting to see how it grows up. Anyway I was going to leave a couple of plants in pots and plant the rest of them in the greenhouse.

Reactions: Bou
Did you grow that from isolated seeds? If not, then my guess is that seedling is the result of cross-pollination with a variegated variety. And yes, some diseases such as mosaic virus can also cause patterns in the leaves. But that one looks more like it crossed with a Fish pepper or the like to me.