• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Temperature and flowers

This is my first time growing peppers and was wondering if you guys could answer a few questions for me. First off my plants seem to be doing real well. I have two habs and two jalapeños. I started growing them in my apartment and moved them out side about a month ago. I live in Wisconsin and the night time temps around here are in the 60-40 degree range. At what temp should I bring them in at night? The day time temp is still in the 70-80 degree. (Cold July)

Also as the plants are starting to produce will it hurt the peppers if I help the flowers off the fruit as they grow?

Any input would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,
-Brian

Growth will slow a little if exposed to about 50F or lower.  It will slow even more below that, but it's only temporary except below 40F you may get some bloom drop/abortion.  A few days of warmer weather will help.   You have to weigh the effort you want to put into it and whether you're available to bring them in late in the evening and put them out in the morning, otherwise they'll be getting less light assuming you don't have a very powerful grow light setup inside, and that decreased light will also slow growth.

I never bring mine in unless they're forecasting a hard frost and even then, only those I don't have tarps or blankets to cover so long as it isn't getting down to  30F for more than an hour.  It never gets below that here until so late in the season that I don't have to worry about freak occurrence, early freezing temperatures happening by more than +- 2/3rds of a month early or late each year.  When that point comes I declare end of season and harvest or overwinter whichever applies.