• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Think they will survive?

I am moving into an apartment so I had to take some plants from the earth and put them in pots, they suffered alot of root damage. The leaves are pretty droopy. Sure hope I didnt kill them. They are red rocoto and habalokia.. What do you think they're shot at surviving is?

lPuwG.jpg

EPOUJ.jpg

I am no expert, but I think they might have a better chance if you cut them back a bit. I don't know how much, but you can experiment with some of the less-important ones. Good luck Ryan.

i would only give them a little direct sunlight and try crushing up an aspirin tablet and mixing that in a gallon of water and see if that helps, then in the cool evening the "holy water" treatment - a fine mist of epsom salt.

good luck.

the advice given is good stuff! the 3 plants i did transplant i left out of direct sunlight for 4-5 days then slowly moved them back to full sun over 3 more days and not once since doing this method have i had any losses, and i have done it with a plant that had 20+ pods on it and did not loose a pod! good luck and hope they make it!

Eric

From the pics they don't look that bad, a bit of transplant shock. Unlike the others, I wouldn't recommend using anything but a little bit of water on these - but no fertilizers/suplements. I would also put them in shade or at least out of direct sunlight for a couple of days and spray them with a myster regularly. The idea about cutting them back isn't bad either, you've got less roots to support the same amount of "plant" - but as said, you can temporarily help the plant by reducing evaporation (shade) and mysting.

Hope they do well... :)

EDIT: oh, and just on a separate note, I would remove the leaves that are touching the soil - that can only cause problems in the long run...