• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds THSC Trinidad Scorpion germination times...

Anyone trying to grow Scorpions from THSC? I had three in my Park Seed Biodome which promptly started growing a fuzzy film on top after about a week even with hydrogen peroxide in the water. I removed them to avoid contaminating the remaining seedlings and started 6 more in another Biodome. It's been two weeks and still no seedlings! Everything else I have including my Bhuts have started and are doing fine.

Is anyone else having trouble with this variety?

Also, this is my first year growing chiles from seed and I was wondering if anyone has an idea about how fast these guys should grow. My annums started fast and furious while the chinense varieties started slow, but have now caught up to the annums. Everything has been going for about 5 and a half weeks. Most seedlings have 2 sets of true leaves with a few showing 3. The leaf color is good and they look healthy and I am giving them 1/4 strength fertilizer once weekly. However, I have seen others on the forum with seedlings at about 6 weeks with 4-5 sets of true leaves. Just wondering if mine are going too slow or if I'm within the realm of normal for new seedling growth.

Thanks for any input you guys have and good luck with the rest of your season.

My Bhut's sprouted quickly in my BioDome, havent tried doing T. Scorps in it though cause my sponges got an infection and I chucked them. Chinese species peppers are odd, some sprout quickly, some seem like they will never come, but just be patient, some can take 4-6 weeks (or so I have heard). I started 9 T Scorp Yellow CARDI seeds on 2-25 and as of today 4 have come up.

from my experience the THSC Trinidad Scorpion seeds I had about 7 out of the 10 germinated using a heat mat, peat pellets and humidity cover. I can't remember exactly how long they took, but I think it was around 4 weeks before they sprouted.