• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Time for seedlings to show sign of life?

Hello everyone!

Been reading a ton of information on this site in the past few weeks and now I come for some help. I am a total noob at this and is my first try. I have been germination some tabasco, habanero and reapers with the ziploc bag method. 2 days ago the tabasco finaly germinated and I have planted the seeds in a small container using Bio Bizz Light Mix ground.

Now the question is how long do I wait after I have planted the germinated seeds to see a sign of life or toss it and try again? I do not want to waste time as this is the time to plant these little guys.

Thank you in advance!

It can vary widely. I have some germinate within 3-4 days and some take as long as 30 days. If they are in a ziplock bag they would probably mold long before the 30day mark though. 

D3monic said:
It can vary widely. I have some germinate within 3-4 days and some take as long as 30 days. If they are in a ziplock bag they would probably mold long before the 30day mark though. 
I think he speaks about already germinated seeds, he moved from ziploc bag to the ground.

@bman900, you can put some pictures, this helps alot (and people around here enjoy in pictures).
I suppose in 2 days should show up, depends on how deep you put the germinated seeds.

As for me, I find other method to be the best: put the seeds on the soil mix without covering them, spray with water, cover with a foil or transparent cover, and let them to germinate. You can have a germination control (see if they germinate or not). When they start to germinate, I cover them with a thin layer of soil mix and spray again. Usually next day they pop up.

And welcome to the forum, forgot this :)

rghm1u20 said:
I think he speaks about already germinated seeds, he moved from ziploc bag to the ground.