• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Tips for growing in Central-South Florida

I'm pretty new to growing the hot peppers I've become addicted to. It seems Florida, especially central to south FL seem to have unique growing seasons. I've searched and searched the forum for a thread dedicated to FL growers with no luck. Maybe we can use this thread for tips, tricks, techniques...Like is there a way to get your plants to produce during the summer? Part shade or cooling techniques?

I know I can't be the only one struggling with this so hopefully some of the pro's can chime in and help some noobies out!

There is no special trick. When the temps start hitting 90 and above your plants are gonna struggle. Using larger containers will help as well. Another thing we encounter more than most is bugs. Since we never really get cold enough to kill them off it is a never ending battle. What you feed them is up to you. I have tried them all and they all work. I still get pods all year around but fall and spring is when I get my best harvest and premium pods. If you a couple spare days check out my grow log ;) . I pretty much tell and show all that I do. Feel free to PM me if you have any other questions.

I'd like to know your average winter/summer highs and lows. Mainly so I can get jealous that you guys get all winter to play around too.

I'd like to know your average winter/summer highs and lows. Mainly so I can get jealous that you guys get all winter to play around too.
http://www.weather.com/weather/wxclimatology/monthly/graph/USFL0438