• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Too short and bushy???

This is my first attempt at pepper growing but I've been all over the web researching it. I started these from seed in the garage under fluorescent lights they are now outside in 12" pots. They appear to be growing well but are extremely short and bushy. Is this normal or do they have so sort of deficiency?
Thanks for the help.

CIMG5392.JPG

Red Long Slim Cayenne, Hot Charleston, Pepperocini

CIMG5393.JPG

Yellow Hungarian Wax

CIMG5394.JPG

Bhut Jolokia

They sure are full aren't they? Not sure why they're stunted, how close did you keep the lights to the plants and for how long. One way to get them to grow is to make them stretch to the light. How long have they been outside? You might want to trim some of the lower leaves. The sun should get them going.

They've been outside for about a month now and are starting to flower (all but the Bhut Jolokia). They were grown under fluorescent lights for about 2 months as well. I kept the light very close as I wanted to winter them over in the garage for next year.

No dude. your good. the lights were good so they did not strech. that's all outside they will change. what you have is an amazing start. outside they will thrive. feed and water then right and you should get a good harvest.

These plants look extremely healthy to me. It's hard to achieve that kind of bushiness with artificial light. They are likely to grow strong and taller under the sunlight now. Kick back and enjoy nature doing its thing in the next month.

They don't look so bad to me.

They do look kind of droopy but that might be because of the picture.

Most people would love for their plants to be more bushy so you shouldn't worry about that.

Bleash