• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

indoor Total beginner looking to grow indoors

Hi all,

Desided to try growing peppers again with a new gameplan, growing indoors. I would like to grow super hots, Carolina reapers will be my first attempt. I just want to know the in's and outs of indoor growing and can I do it with out spending a foutune on hydro systems and lighting?

cheap lights
You can get a couple t8 light fixtures at lowes for 20$ each. 40$

cheap super basic hydro (no pumps, no recirculation, just pour a cup of water in each every day)
You can use a big bag of perlite (20$ at local nursery) as media for 8 5gallon buckets. 20$
You can find used 5 gallon buckets on craigslist for like 1 dollar each. 8$
You can get a small bottle of hydro nutrients like dynagro for 10$
40$

or

cheap soil grow
Can dig soil out of your backyard 0$
should probably put lots of perlite, pine bark, sand something to loosen the mix 20$
You can find used 5 gallon buckets on craigslist for like 1 dollar each. 8$
Get some tomato fertilizer at lowes 6$
35$

check the FAQ it's stickied.

Welcome to the forum.

I am not familiar with hydro - I use 5 gallon paint buckets - http://www.homedepot.com/p/Homer-Bucket-5-gal-Orange-Bucket-05GLHD2/100087613? - And fill them with potting soil.

Regarding lights, I like floruscents.  They don't run hot.  Last year was my first season growing indoors and I was able to get pods with this light:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007FGE6C0/

I'll let more experienced growers give you advice on fertilizer - I don't have it quite worked out yet.

Best of Luck!  Start a grow log and post pictures!

Fall is a great time to gather up pine needles, leaves, etc to make your own mix.  A lot of people like some peat moss mixed in too to keep the soil fluffy.