• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Transplanting Leggy Seedlings

Hi all,
This is my first attempt at chilli growing and my first question to you all.
i Have a few seedlings coming through and have noticed they grow quickly to around 1 in to 1 1/2 in
even though they get good light and dont have to reach for it they seem to
become leggy and barley seem to be able to support themselves.
What i want to know is can i transplant them and bury them deeper say up to the cotyledon so their better supported.
Cheers Kevvy.

Yup. Should be fine. And IIRC, you might get some rooting from the stem, too. Tomatoes do it like they mean it, but I believe peppers will, too.

Hi all,
This is my first attempt at chilli growing and my first question to you all.
i Have a few seedlings coming through and have noticed they grow quickly to around 1 in to 1 1/2 in
even though they get good light and dont have to reach for it they seem to
become leggy and barley seem to be able to support themselves.
What i want to know is can i transplant them and bury them deeper say up to the cotyledon so their better supported.
Cheers Kevvy.

What type of light are you providing to the seedlings?

Burying them deeper at the first transplant is fine.

Natural light, open air shade. I try to get them outside as soon as i
see them emerge.

I grew my seedlings in a spot that was under sunlight up to about 3:00 pm in spring. The summer weather at the moment is too hot to keep the seedlings out in anything other than early morning sunlight throughout the upcoming weeks.

I've done it plenty of times without adverse effects ;)

In fact, every time I've done it, it's given me the edge to get ahead and correct the insufficient light problem.

yes i too have done it plenty of times but i like to keep mine in a shady area with only a little sun light getting to them