• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

preservation Vinegar free sauce recipes?

I planted Tabasco peppers this year and now I'm dying to make a hot sauce. Problem is, I can't stand vinegar. The taste, the smell - I can't be around it. I tried making pickles and gagged until I tied a shirt around my face. The point, I suppose, is that I would love to make a vinegar free hot sauce.

Except I can't find any recipes. And now that I've started looking, I've started freaking myself out about all the nasties that can live in it if it's done wrong. I've been making jams for a couple years and never had a problem, but now I'm suddenly worried that I'm going to infect my family with something awful!

Can anyone recommend a good place to find recipes for sauces that use lemon or lime instead of vinegar? Or can I take a vinegar recipe and just sub in lemon juice?

(Also, I hope this is the right place to ask this... I wasn't sure! Apologies if I was wrong.)

If you keep it in the fridge there is no need to worry. If bottling get a pH meter and use citrus. But... is there a hot sauce in your fridge right now that you like that has vinegar? Because it is all about balance. Yes it is for preservation, but it also lends a tang to sauce and citrus adds a bit of a different quality, more sour. Vinegar just needs to be used right. 

Roguejim said:
Fermented sauces.
For some reasons this makes me so nervous!

I think I'm going to use lime juice - no one in the house likes vinegar, and the consensus is that a pepper lime sauce sounds tasty! Can I just sub lime juice for vinegar 1-1?

Roo said:
For some reasons this makes me so nervous!

I think I'm going to use lime juice - no one in the house likes vinegar, and the consensus is that a pepper lime sauce sounds tasty! Can I just sub lime juice for vinegar 1-1?