• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

sun When to Introduce to the Sunshine?

This is my first year growing peppers. I have several started (44) and they have their second set or more of leaves. I live in San Antonio, Texas and the weather has been sunny and in the 80's lately. I thought I'd take them all on a trip outside to se Mr Sun this past weekend. Thought it would be better than the artifical light. Looking at them yesterday afternoon, they started looking a little sad and on the yellow side. Some of the more "leggy" ones looked like they were getting a little top heavy. The soil still feels damp. I'm doing the two cup solo method and the outside cups are all dry. This morning I moved them all to the patio where they are in the shade. They seem to like it a littlw better and the "leggy" ones are starting to lift their heads a little.My question is, how much sun and when should they get it? Low temps at night are getting in the 50's and I'm leaving them out through the night. Also, the "leggy" guys, can I add some more soil to the cup to help the stand?

You can add more soil to the leggy guys or just transplant them deaper.

[SIZE=10.5pt]In order to give your plants the best chance of success it is best to ‘harden them off’ prior to leaving them outside full time. This is the process of slowly getting them used to the cooler temperatures and windy conditions outside. In Spring temperatures can fluctuate wildly with hot days followed by very cold nights and strong gusts of wind an ever present threat to delicate stems. Chilli plant seedlings can easily be killed or severely damaged by these fluctuations if used to a constant indoor temperature.[/SIZE]