• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

Windsong's 2012 Grow Log

:think: Jan 12

This is my first year growing hot peppers. I found The Hot Pepper website a couple months back and joined. Thanks to several generous members and Judy at PepperLover I was able to get started rather quickly. Yesterday I started many of this year’s seeds. Here is the list of what seeds I set:
  1. 7 Pot Jonah
  2. 7 Pot Red
  3. Aji Amarillo
  4. Aji Yellow
  5. Bhut Jolokia, Brown
  6. Bhut Jolokia, Peach
  7. Bhut Jolokia, Red
  8. Black Naga 9 seed
  9. Black Scorpion Tongue
  10. Chapeu Du Frade
  11. Chinese 5 Color
  12. Congo Trinidad Scorpion
  13. Datil Pepper
  14. Fish Pepper
  15. Brown Habanero
  16. Orange Habanero
  17. Red Habanero
  18. White Habanero
  19. Lemon Habanero
  20. Naga Jolokia Purple
  21. Peter Pepper Red
  22. Red Salvina
  23. Santa Fe Grande Pepper
  24. Thai Hot Pepper
  25. Trinidad Scorpion
  26. Trinidad Scorpion Butch
  27. Trinidad Scorpion Mourouga
  28. Tobago Scotch Bonnet
  29. Tobago Scotch Bonnet Yellow
  30. Trinidad Sweet Cherry
  31. Trinidad Perfume
  32. Zavory

I set 12 seeds of everything except Black Naga, which I only had 9 seeds of. I had read that peat retards germination for some hot peppers, so I decided to start all seeds in Oasis Horticubes. I used the thin cut 1” x 1” x 1-1/2” cubes, there are 276 cubes to a sheet. I went this route for several reasons:
  1. Nonpeat based
  2. Sterile
  3. Fit in standard 10-20 trays, so I could use the trays I have and the clear domes
  4. Easy to start a large number of plants in a minimum of space. Top shelf of the plant rack in my office