• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

chinense Yellow Bhut Heat

Ok so I am a chili noob but under my belt are the following medium to superhot peppers: Trinidad Moruga Scorpion, Reaper, Chocolate Hab, Orange Hab, Paper Lantern Hab, White Hab, Yaki brown and now the Yellow Bhut. So I am wondering what everyone thinks about the yellow bhut? I was looking for a scoville rating on this pepper and some say 400k some say 800k~ For me this pepper ( at least compared to a Reaper or TMS ) Feels a lot hotter than I expected. Maybe 25% hotter than the Yaki brown(which rates 700k~) and prolly 65%-75% as hot as a TMS or Reapers that I have tried.

Flavor wise I am not a fan of the slightly bitter floral flavors some peppers have and this pepper had a very light hint of that. But what I did like about the pepper was the heat profile and how thick walled this pepper was. I am used to the paper thin walls of trinidad style superhots. So it had a lot of water content which was nice.

What do you all think about this pepper?

Heat 7/10
Flavor 6/10

a pepper can "feel" more hot depending on the capsaicinoid content. 

sounds like you need to try some more bhuts to get a feeling. Try a fatalii as well those can fell "just as hot".

for me anyway anything over 1 mil is hard to tell the difference.. it just hurts.

sorry nothing to say about yellow bhut specifically lol

juanitos said:

sounds like you need to try some more bhuts to get a feeling. Try a fatalii as well those can fell "just as hot".

for me anyway anything over 1 mil is hard to tell the difference.. it just hurts.

Nothing to say about yellow bhut either, but I agree fataliis do seem way hotter that what the scoville ratings show. They feel as hot or hotter than my red bhuts.

juanitos said:

Alrighty thanks for the input!

OP,