• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Normal growth for a Carolina reaper?

Hey! This is my first try growing super hot chilis or any chilis for that matter, so I dont really have any prior experiences with these plants.
I sprouted 6 reaperseeds and this is the only survivor.

It just felt like it grows really slow so Im just looking for some feedback on my plant.

19/6 it looked like this:
cfhonMq.jpg

And today 6/9 it looks like this:
GiiVk2J.jpg

HEykBU8.jpg

I topped it about a week ago. I have added some wormcastings as topdressing and repotted it into a 1.8 gallon container.
Right now I have it under about 70w LEDs in a mylar growtent, but I plan on going to a 300w LED.
Based on the pictures and info, would you say the plant is healthy or should I change anything in my setup?
Thanks / Christian

Hard to say exactly by the picture, but the brown/black specks on the larger leaves are a little concerning at first glance. Can you get a good picture of the underside of those leaves? The newer small leaves don't appear to have the problem so maybe it was something you fixed already. Otherwise, if it's growing well, I don't fix what isn't broken.

my reaper is also very slow. Only slightly larger then the last pic after 3 months. However im using 300 watts

Thanks for the replies! I added a 300w LED to the growtent. I also sprayed my plants with epsom salt and watered with worm castings tea and after this it really took of so Im pleased with the current growth rate, and the leaves also look healthier! :)
Picture today 24/9:
ruQMdEA.jpg

Hi Christian

Looking good. Do you do anything special making the tea and what light are you using in there?

Looks great. Worm castings are my best friend. And kelp extract. I started using Epsom salt half way through this years grow. Hard to say if it had any effect.

KAOS said:
Hi Christian