• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

soil Empire Builder Soil

It's amazing what some of these Californians come up with when putting together water-only soil. I'm new to this concept myself but the term "water-only" is apparently making reference to commercial soils that do not require feeding or fertilizing throughout any one growing season. I'd beg to differ with any such claims but I must admit that I am quite impressed with the ingredients in Empire Builder.

This is a pricey one folks. I've seen it advertised in bulk for $129 per cubic yard and that's not talking delivery. I've also heard that at specific retailers that number comes down to about $90 bucks or so. Either way it isn't cost-worthy by any means. Having stopped into the Grower's Choice Hydro shop here in the Haystack this afternoon I happened to see a few Empire Builder posters and asked about it. Where 2 cubic feet of this stuff runs $16.00 to $20.00 anywhere else in the bay area these cats have it marked down to $12.95 and if you ask me that's worth experimenting with in the chile pots! Check it out:

empirebuilderbag.jpg

ebingredients.jpg

That's a HELLUVA list of ingredients!

Here's the web page:
http://sanctuarysoil...empire-builder/

Now keep in mind that this stuff's only available in California! I'm sure it's available in other states but with a substantial delivery being charged at the door to get it. By what I'm looking at I'm thinking these California gorilla farmers just might've come up with a real winner of a soil. We'll have to see. I'll report back later.

I transplanted my seedlings into EB this year. It's great. My transplants eventually go into something cheaper or in the ground, but this is really great stuff. I even transplanted some very young sprouts and there was no burn. It's safe for babies.