gday from ballina australia

hey guys... just dropping in to introduce myself.
my name is david and i am a bit of a newbie to the chilli world but i have very quickly fallen in love with everything about them!!
i am trying to grow habaneros and bhut jolokia here on the northern coast of nsw and i am having problems with it..
IMG_0222.jpg

IMG_0218.jpg

id love it if anyone around my region could give me some info on what i should be doing to grow great plants here..

i make my own sauce....
180860_495774159091_622499091_6087326_5500611_n.jpg

and have had some small successes with pods earlier in the season...
IMG_0210.jpg

but now after a massive amount of rain my plants are looking woeful...

any tips on soil types and when and what fertilisers to use would fantastic!!
cheers and im loving this site!!
dave
:cheers:

Welcom_From_Wisconsin.gif

Enjoy_The_Site_Spicy_Chicken.gif

Hay David

I have no knowledge of that particular area, so for what its worth:
woeful meaning Deplorably bad or wretched, had to look that one up.
looks like your soil is heavy maybe clayish, is that true?
leaves will fall of if the plant has wet feet for an extended period of time and will rot.
Maybe buckets are the answer, something more controllable.

Cheers, SC

thats been the general consensus.. clay soil and the fact that the garden has been built on top of an old septic tank.... i think i will have to expend some cash on some pots and good soil next week....
:think:
its so good to be able to chat to people from all around the world about chillis!!

Yes it is David, like yourself I get to chat with people from all walks of life.

There is a really a fantastic family here. you will get some great advice I'm sure and there is a ton of help already written.

Once again welcome to the family, You have some nice looking peppers there and your label is fantastic.

Keep it hot my friend!! SC

Hi David!