• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

chinense Habanero tree?

RJS

Banned
A Mexican I work with and give peppers was telling me today about their habaneros back home. After I described Bhut Jolokia, he swore they had about the same thing.
Said they were red, much hotter than the common orange varieties north of the Rio, and grew wild and nearly to tree size in rural Mexico.

Am I getting my leg pulled?
:?:

you might not be, but i'm sure they aren't bhut jolokia hot. we've all seen some pretty weird photos south of the border. anything's possible.

Habanero Arbol (Tree Habanero)? I'm no expert, just found that searching.

whatever it is I am sure there is somthing to be said about a plant that grows in the wild and lives in a climate that is hot and fairly dry....
get some pics and a few samples .

therrs plenty of tree likev chilis in the wild..look at Andres thread to see a tree chili..a friend in ireland has a 7 ft trinidad tree and its prolific Habanero/Congo type :)

It is lot unknown peppers species in the world they are not yet discover you never no he might tell you the truth ask him to give you some seeds then you will find out if he is wright or wrong.

RJS said:
A Mexican I work with and give peppers was telling me today about their habaneros back home. After I described Bhut Jolokia, he swore they had about the same thing.
Said they were red, much hotter than the common orange varieties north of the Rio, and grew wild and nearly to tree size in rural Mexico.

Am I getting my leg pulled?

:?:

Try and et some pictures like 915 says and then all can see and comment