• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Hydro advice needed: DWC vs. Ebb and Flow/Hydroton vs. Rockwool

Hi, I'm hoping for a bit of advice.  I've grown basil in a DWC system with hydroton before and found it pretty easy and low maintenance, but this is my first time growing peppers.  I've started a couple of varieties in my basement using a small ebb and flow system and rockwool.  I'm wondering what people's opinions are growing in an ebb and flow system vs. DWC and what medium is best.  I'm thinking about using DWC with hydroton because I think it might allow for me to use a bigger reservoir for the roots.  Also, I'm wondering if rockwool might get to water logged and maybe only holds moisture and not necessarily nutrients.  My rockwool is already starting to show signs of mold after three weeks and I'm thinking a DWC with hydroton might make it easier to combat mold and pH fluctuations.  I've many more questions, but I think I'll save them for another day.  I might be overthinking all of this, but its my first time seriously growing chili peppers and I want to do it the best I can.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks! 

There is some good advice on this site, as well as some good references at http://www.agrisk.umn.edu/cache/arl01481.htm#gh_peppers. I particularly like the Alberta publications. I have grown in a variety of hydroponic styles; much of your choice of style will be based on your particular circumstances. In the end, I've elected to grow mostly in a peat based mix with perlite, wood chips, worm castings and other goodies. Some of the fancier systems did give me some very outstanding plants, but they were much more work to maintain than my current dripper fed plants.
Renais