• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Intro and grow log 09

I've been hanging around the forum all this year & thought it's about time I said hi & posted some photos of my plants. I've been growing chilis for 3 years & this year went a bit crazy with the number of varieties for the amount of space. I also had some fun ordering a load of leds from rs and soldered up my own growlight.

I started the seeds in paper pots made from wrapping newspaper round a deodorant can (like this)

This year I'm growing:
Aci Sivri
Aji Rojo
Andy F1
Cayenne
Holy Mole
Monkey Face
Robertos Cuban Seasoning (Aji Dulce?)
Rocoto Red
Scotch Bonnet Red
Serrano
Sizzler
Sweet Wrinkled Old Man (Hot Pepperoncini)
Tunisian Baklouti

I've also overwintered some Tepins and a couple of Fish Peppers.

Growlight
led.jpg

Chilis potted up & still under the light in a kitchen cupboard
led_on.jpg

Chilis now on my southwest facing windowsill (10 weeks old?)
04may09.jpg

Pretty sweet grow light. Been thinking about beginning to research to do a diy version. Definitely looks like it works very well. Welcome too by the way.

Welcome frokm Lake Constance, Germany!
Nice growlist and nice pics! Don't forget to post pics of all stages of growth and of all food you cook with the peppers! It's the unwritten law here! ;)

Welcome from Fort Worth, Texas

Thanks all for the welcome. The plants are continuing to do well in our fairly dry sunny UK weather. Except the Aci Sivris which are frankly rubbish - 4/30 germinated (0/5 soil, 4/25 paper towel in a bag)

10may09.jpg

Welcome Alistair, where in UK you from?
Originally Yorkshire, but been in London since '95