• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Michigan dropping to 40 Fahrenheit tonight

So this is my first year with so many plants ( 26 pots). Most of them have a lot of ripen pods and also a lot of un-ripen pods. This week some nights will be in the low 40's.

I plan on making a lot of hot sauce but I am waiting for the ph meter and bottles to arrive in the mail ( might be another 5 days). Originally I didn't want to pick the ripe pods until I was ready to make the sauce.

This question is for you experienced growers.

Should I pick them today?

Is there a way to protect my 26 pots ( without bringing them inside) (google confused me, some say use plastic others dont) ?

If all of you say to pick my ripe pods should I put them in fridge for a week until all my supplies comes for hot sauce making or keep them room temp?

A perfect situation for me would be to be able to keep the ripe pods on the plants, keep plants outside, and protect the 26 pots individually somehow, and remove protection in the morning. Hopefully one of you will be able to suggest a method for this.

Thanks in advance,

A Panicked Torch

Down to 40F will be plenty ok for your plants and pods. Leave them be and let them enjoy the cooler nights.

Go ahead and make the sauce if you want to, you can adjust the ph later and it will keep for a few days in the fridge regardless of ph, but there is no need to pick them for a drop to only 40F.

Put them in the fridge only if they are completely ripe, if they aren't then they will ripen far more outside the fridge at room temp and refrigeration won't be needed to preserve them because a firm, unripe pod won't go bad in only a few days time (unless there was already something wrong with it like mold inside).