What To Do With Unripe Pods On Plants? Temperatures Dropping

Hi there again.  Temperatures here in zone 3 are going to remain at a steady 34-43 degrees daytime and lower at night, into the frost level.  I have a lot of unripe pods on my plants.  Trinidad Moruga Scorpion (4), Bhut Jolokia (4), Brainstrain (3), Caribbean Habanero (2), 7 Pot Douglah (3), Rocoto (1), Trinidad Perfume (2).  What is my best bet to having these things ripen?  Is pulling them from the ground, pruning them leaving the pods still on the plant, then tying up and hanging upside down in my garage (unheated).  A few of the pods are in transition or starting to change color, but many are not yet turning.  Or is cutting off the pods and placing in a paper bag with piece of potato a better option.  If so, how much of a potato is used?  This is my first year, and what a crappy year I picked to start as the weather was terrible.  Bringing these indoors is NOT an option as the missus will Not let me bring any of these indoors.  Any help and advice is always welcome.  Thank you.

I usually pick all pods that are a mature size and put them in a bag to ripen. I figure anything smaller isn't going to continue to grow after it's picked, so I just compost those. The ones I pick that end up never ripening I just put in green salsa.

Wait until the missus is out of the house and bring them indoors. When she gets home, you be ready with a bottle of wine and tickets to a play/ballet that she would like to see - something you normally wouldn't want to do but are willing to in order to get the plants inside. And offer to take her to the play/ballet again if she starts piping up about the plants.  ;)

Thanks all so far.  So far it is looking like I will be getting a cardboard box and a banana.  Ok, that just didn't sound right.  I will be getting a cardboard box and placing a banana (peel on, fully intact) along with peppers in said box and waiting for them to ripen.